Author Topic: Rule interpretation  (Read 4702 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.


  • Guest
Rule interpretation
« on: December 18, 2008, 09:43:56 PM »
The DMG says  "When a scroll is copied into a spellbook or read to release its magic, the writing completely and permanently disappears from the scroll."

My dilemma is this; When the MU rolls a % to learn and it fails, is the scroll still intact and usable?

He was neither copying it into his spellbook nor was he reading it to release the magic. Any thoughts?

Offline Vertrax

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 22
  • Karma: 1
    • View Profile
Re: Rule interpretation
« Reply #1 on: December 18, 2008, 11:49:28 PM »
Well if he was trying to commit it to memory (for future quest use) then he might have to roll for destruction of the scroll should he succeed in learning it.
If you have a cactus plant that dies on you, that means you are less nurturing than a desert

Offline Delbareth

  • Global Moderator
  • Forum Master
  • ***
  • Posts: 243
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Rule interpretation
« Reply #2 on: December 19, 2008, 12:17:36 AM »
Forget about these damn stupid and artificial rules! ;)
Les MJ ne sont ni sadiques ni cruels, ce sont juste des artistes incompris.