Suggestions for Map-designing

Started by Planet_Traveller, August 20, 2006, 08:40:00 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Planet_Traveller

Hello,

I just have questions for basic digital map designing.

I have been writing fantasy/scifi stories for a while (just as my own personal hobby). I am currently in the making of an epic-length series. I have managed drawing a map and provide many, yet broad aspects of the world (geography, culture, races, brief history, etc).

Now for the past year and few months, on my spare time I have scrolled through this website and read little by little info on khoras. (And David I would like to say congradulations/great job on the astounding work and imagination you have put into this campaign setting).

I have read the page on the usage of photoshop to create the stunning details on the map, and I must say that's impressive.

I would like to state is that when it comes to the use of digital and photoediting programs, I have no experience, though I'm a fast learner. The other thing is that I have no artistic talent.

I want to digitally-edit my map though (a physical map), but that's it. So in this case, I figured its not worth buying the very expenisive and very complex Photoshop.
I'm not looking to make my map as enrichly detailed as a satellite image of Earth (or as detailed as Khoras) but I want to give it some decent and professional look.

Provided that I have a scanner,:P does anyone know if there are any basic and cheaper programs out there that can help me out with this?

avisarr

Hello Planet Traveller,

Thanks for writing. The answer is YES! There are ALWAYS cheaper (and often FREE) versions of programs. There is something called "Paint Shop Pro" which, I believe is by JASC Software. It's very much like Photoshop, but it's much cheaper. I've never used it, but I heard it has many of the features that Photoshop offers (though probably not all of them).