Mixing Multimedia with Gaming

Started by khoras2, August 13, 2005, 10:01:29 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

khoras2

Mixing Multimedia with Gaming

[Here is another email response that I wrote back in 2000 to an email asking about my methods of mixing multimedia with gaming].

I've been spicing up my gaming sessions for about 3 years now. I've got a great group of enthusiastic players who are open to new things.

Here are some of the things I've been doing:

1. Detailed maps. No matter what the situation, I present them with a good map. One that looks good and shows them what they need to see.

2. Pictures - I scour the internet looking for good pictures. Whatever the characters encounter, I've got a good picture for it. I've got a
collection of several hundred pictures organized into categories.

3. Sound - I've been compiling my own personal library of WAV files for gaming purposes. A dragon's roar, a galloping horse, etc. The
right sound effect can really make a difference. I once used an eerie animal cry that echoed through the forest. It was the cry of a predator. It had them horrified.

4. PowerPoint - I recently have starting using Microsoft Powerpoint. I create a small presentation that details what the players did last session. I start each session off with this "presentation". The presentation shows the party exactly what happened last session and reminds everyone of the storyline. It's usually very graphically rich - every slide has a picture and perhaps a short bit of text to describe the picture. Besides lots of pictures, it sometimes has a short animation or bit of video. It's usually humorous and gets a couple of good laughs out of them. Also, it gets everyone psyched up and reminds them of exactly what was going on.

5. Props - Whenever possible, I try to have a prop. An actual physical item. This is usually just for the important stuff. A small wooden